UPDATING YOUR DESIGN TO THE LATEST VERSION

This guide will explain how to update your current design to the latest version.

 

READ ME FIRST!
Please remember any update for a design that you download requires you to start the customization process all over again! You can always have your old design ready to activate at any time, but you'll be starting completely over if you install an updated design and want to customize with that one.

 

UPDATED DESIGNS

Periodically we update all our designs to add the latest features from ProPhoto to the design, make small changes, fixes or additions based on customer feedback. Those updates from ProPhoto you already have before you update the design, you’ll always get ProPhoto updates as they release, and you’ll never have to wait on us to add them to the design.

As an example, when we released a few of our designs, contact forms hadn’t been added to ProPhoto yet, we’ve added contact forms to those designs that didn’t already have one as part of an update. Regardless of whether you update the design or not, you’ve got the contact form feature in a ProPhoto update, and you can add it to your design at any time you’d like, without re-downloading files or updating the design itself. Same for any features that gets added to ProPhoto at a later date. You can check out ProPhoto’s roadmap here.

That being said, we have to warn you that if you decide to update your design, YOU’LL BE STARTING FROM SCRATCH. There is no feature that allows ProPhoto designs to only import the changes we’ve made, there’s no update process for us to push an update to users either, these are features that ProPhoto just doesn’t have yet, but if you’d like for these to be added, then please send ProPhoto a message about being able to get pushed updates to designs. You can contact them HERE. The more people who want them, the higher priority those features get added.

 

IF YOU PURCHASED THE DESIGN FROM PROPHOTO

Simply log back into your ProPhoto account and re-download the file. You can login here.

 

IF YOU PURCHASED FROM LA LUNE

Simply log back into your account on our site and re-download the file. You can login here.

 

LAST AND FINAL WARNING!!!!
We are not responsible for any user error, designs, changes or customizations lost after doing a design update! Once you decide to take this next step, you are completely at your own mercy, make sure to backup your design FIRST before doing anything! Also note these changes will NEVER effect anything uploaded to WordPress, so your posts, pages, comments and any other WordPress content won't change at all, only the design content will change.

 

BACKING UP YOUR CURRENT DESIGN

The first step is to download the new files (see the top of the tutorial for where you purchased from.)

Once you’ve got your new files, let’s make a backup of the design we’ve ALREADY customized so that if you decide to switch back you’ll have all your customizations already made.

Watch the video below to see how to make a backup of your design.

 

 

COMPLETING THE UPDATE

Once your backup is made, you’ll delete the design out of the purchased-add-ons section and install the new one like you would if you were installing a brand new design.

 

 

After you run through the setup process you can activate and begin customization like you would any time you activate a new design. If you don’t feel like doing it all over or customizing from scratch, you can always go back and activate your backup design to be right where you left off before updating the design.

Was this article helpful to you?

Comments are closed.